Max Moore Award

Max Moore, owner and President of Oklahoma Stee and Wire and its affiliated companies, Southwestern Steel & Wire and Iowa Steel and Wire was a dedicated and enthusiastic leader, who was tragically killed in a plane crash in 2000.

Max was elected to the AWPA Board of Directors in 1990 and served in many leadership capacities throughout his tenure with the association. His enthusiasm for his business, family, employees and the community were evident in his daily life.

An anonymous donation was given to commemorate Max and the verve with which he lived his life. AWPA member companies and individuals make contributions to the Max Moore fund annually, along with their meeting registrations. The first presentation was made in 2002.

A $1000 cash award is given to the recipient’s charity of choice in his/her name and an engraved commemorative award is presented at the AWPA Annual Meeting. In addition, the AWPA displays a plaque to which the name of each successive recipient is added.


Award Criteria

In describing Max and his lifestyle, his family has provided the criteria by which an individual is selected to receive this distinguished honor. When soliciting nominations, we ask that you describe the nominee’s qualities in three areas:

  • Entrepreneurial Spirit in their business life
  • Leadership
  • Community Service

Eligible nominees are individuals who are with AWPA member companies.


Nomination Process

The selection committee consists of two AWPA Board Members, two representatives from rod supplier companies, Pat Moore or someone from the family that she may designate, and the AWPA Executive Director.

To nominate someone for the Max Moore Entrepreneurial Spirit Award, please complete this Nomination Form and send it to the AWPA.
Nomination Form

Past Recipients

2020 Award Recipient

Insteel Industries, Inc.

Previous Recipients

2019: John W. Martin, III, MAR-MAC Industries, Inc.
2017: Stan Fossick, Mid South Wire Company
2016: Richard Sarver, Paramount Die
2011: Bill Upton Jr., Vulcan Steel Products
Timothy Selhorst, American Spring Wire Corporation
Kent Taubensee, Taubensee Steel & Wire Co.
Milton Magnus III, M&B Metal Products
John Mueller, Laidlaw Corp.
Doug King, King Steel Corp.
John T. Johnson, Mid South Wire
David Libla, Mid Continent Nail